Today’s Advent is dear to my heart. For the last three summers, I’ve left my sweet family and traveled 2,500 miles west to help run a kids camp on the Lummi Nation Indiana Reservation. Through those years I’ve fallen in love with the kids there. This year I was privileged to spend time with one family before camp started. It was an amazing day that none of us will forget.


The Boxwell-Rosario family and I drove up Mt. Baker to have a snowball fight, in June! It was awesome! I love and miss these guys so much.

A family from my church heard my post-camp kids presentation and asked if they could buy presents for a family. I was already sending a box to this family, so it was truly the more the Merrier Christmas!

So, we boxed up goodies for a family who works hard, but doesn’t have a lot. I wish I could send gifts to all the kids from camp, but that’s not in the cards this year. Maybe another advent.


While I was waiting in line at the post office, a lady two people in front of me couldn’t get her debit card to work. It had been locked for some reason. Now, nobody wants to stand in a post office line twice at Christmas. So, I handed her the money and covered the cost of her shipping. Sometimes advent comes to you.

As I drove away, I couldn’t believe Christmas is in 4 days. The anticipation of celebrating Jesus coming is growing so big, we Waterford’s might burst! I asked myself the question, “How generous would we be if we knew it was all completed in four days? We couldn’t take any of it with us.” I like the thought of a giving world. One that really cared for their fellow man to the point of emptying themselves out for one another.

More thoughts on that a different day.

Thank you, postmen and women, for taking boxes of love all the way to Washington and working to get them there by Christmas. I’m thankful that the ladies packages will arrive on time too.

Love God & Whoever He Puts In Front Of You

Leave a Reply

